Quick Answer: Does Archiving Emails Delete Them?

Why do my archived emails disappear?

The AutoArchive feature in Outlook automatically sends old messages to the Archive folder, which can make it seem like those messages have disappeared to the unsuspecting user.

This will keep your emails from being archived unexpectedly or too often..

Do archived emails get deleted?

The Archive action removes the message from view in the inbox and puts it in the All Mail area, in case you ever need it again. You can find archived messages by using Gmail’s search function. … The Delete action moves the selected message to the Trash area, where it stays for 30 days before it is permanently deleted.

What is the difference between archiving and deleting an email?

Whether you delete or archive an email message, it disappears from your inbox. A deleted message goes into the trash folder, whereas an archived message is defaulted to the Archive folder or “All Mail” on Gmail / Google Apps.

Does Archiving Outlook emails delete them?

For Microsoft 365, Outlook.com, and Exchange accounts, the Archive folder is one of Outlook’s default folders, like Inbox, Sent Items, and the Deleted Items folder. This folder can’t be deleted. … Using the Archive button to move messages to the Archive folder doesn’t reduce your mailbox size.

What happens to your emails when you archive them?

If you want to clean up your inbox without deleting your emails, you can archive or mute them. Your emails are moved to a label called “All Mail.” When you archive a message: The message will come back to your inbox when someone replies to it. When you mute a message: Any replies stay out of your inbox.

How do I permanently delete emails from Outlook?

Open the Inbox folder, select to highlight the email messages in the Inbox folder that you will delete permanently, and press the Shift + Delete keys at the same time. 2. In a pop-up warning dialog box, click the Yes button. Then all selected email messages in the Inbox folder are deleted permanently.

How do I change from archive to delete?

Choose your archive or delete settingsOn your Android phone or tablet, open the Gmail app .In the top left, tap Menu .Tap Settings General settings. Gmail default action.Tap Archive or Delete. … Scroll down to the “Action confirmations” section and choose if you want confirmation before archiving or deleting messages.

What happens when you archive Outlook emails?

Archiving will move emails off of the network mail server to your local computer, where you will still be able to access them through Outlook. Archiving regularly helps free space on Webster’s email servers. You can archive items manually whenever you want.

Is archive same as delete?

The Gmail app for Android gives its users two choices for discarding a new message: archive or delete. The Archive action removes the message from view in the inbox and puts it in the All Mail area, in case you ever need it again.

Do archived emails take up space?

2 Answers. Yes, messages that are archived count towards your storage quota. … The only difference is that messages in the spam and trash will probably be permanently deleted within 30 days, which automatically frees up space in your account.

How do I retrieve archived emails?

Finding archived emails via mobile apps If you are using the Gmail mobile app on your iOS or Android device, you can also access archived content easily. As on the web, you can use the search bar displayed above your mail to initiate a search; it will include archived content.

How long do emails stay in archive?

30 daysYou can find archived messages by using Gmail’s search function. Messages addressed to a group of people can return to your inbox if someone on the address list replies to the original. The Delete action moves the selected message to the Trash area, where it stays for 30 days before it is permanently deleted.

Does archive WhatsApp delete?

Archiving a chat makes the chat disappear from the main WhatsApp window where the conversations appear. Users can then unarchive and access the chat at any time.

Where do emails go when you archive them?

In the Gmail app for iPhone, iPad, or Android, tap the Archive button in the top menu that appears. The Archive button has the same design as the button shown on the Gmail website. Any email you archive will disappear from your main Gmail inbox, including from any of the focused categories you might have.

What are the benefits of archiving email?

How can your business benefit from email archiving?Reduced storage requirements. … Prevents users from losing data. … Increased server performance. … Simplified backup and restore. … Eliminates mailbox quotas. … Accelerates search capabilities. … Accounts for all users. … Eliminates PST files.More items…•

Where do archived emails go in iPhone?

Instead of an Archive folder, the Mail app automatically transfers every archived message to your email account’s All Mail folder. After you find an archived message, you can transfer it back to its original folder or choose another folder.